Research Council

Research Council is the most important body in CSIR-CECRI whose mission is to improve decision making recruitment and public policy on R&D activities, increase public understanding, and promote the acquisition and dissemination of knowledge in matters involving electrochemical science and technology. The Research Council's independent, expert reports and other scientific activities inform policies and actions that have the power to improve the lives of people in India.

As suggested by the CSIR Rules and Regulations & Bye-Laws, the Research Council would be comprising of:

     I. Five external experts one of whom shall be designated as Chairman.

    II. Representatives of concerned Scientific Departments/Agencies of Govt. of India.

  III. Director of the laboratory.

   IV. Director/Senior Scientist from a sister Laboratory;

 Director-General or his representative shall be permanent invitee. Members at (i), (ii) and (iv) including the Chairman shall be nominated by Director-General. The Secretary of the Research Council shall be nominated by the Director. The Secretariat for Research Council shall be provided by the concerned laboratory. The term of nominated members of Research Council shall be for a period of three years. The Research Council shall meet not less than two times in a year


The Research Council shall:

  • Advise on the formulation of R&D programmes and future directions of activities of the laboratory keeping in view the Five Year Plans, national priorities and Emerging Technological opportunities.
  • Suggest networking with other CSIR National Laboratories on programmes of mutual interest.
  • Review R&D activities and research programmes and advise on future directions.
  • Advise on fostering linkages between the Laboratory, industry and potential clients.
  • Constitute Selection Committees and Assessment Committees/Peer Groups for selection, merit and assessment promotions of scientific staff.
  • Any other function as may be assigned by Director General/Governing Body.

The Proceedings of the Research Council shall be approved by its Chairman. In the absence of Chairman of RC, one of its members who presides the meeting as Chairman shall approve the proceedings of the said meeting. The Director-General may amend any of the decisions of the Research Council which shall be binding.


Dr. Nalin Shinghal

Chairman and Managing Director

Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd., BHEL House

Siri Fort, New Delhi

 External Members

Prof. Anil Kumar

Retd. Chief Scientist

JC Bose National Fellow

Physical & Materials Chemistry, CSIR-NCL, Pune.


Shri A. Ravi

Executive Director & Director General

ONGC Energy Centre, ONGC Ltd.,

Laxmi Nagar Commercial Complex, Laxmi Nagar



Prof. Vijayamohanan K. Pillai

Chair, Chemistry & Dean (R&D)

J C Bose National Fellow (SERB)

IISER, Tirupati


Prof. Raj Ganesh Pala

Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur



Shri Ved Prakash Mishra
Director (HSMD), 

Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change

Indira Paryavaran Bhawan, New Delhi


Prof. Arvind Kumar Mishra


CSIR-Central Institute of Mining and Fuel Research



Dr. S. Mahesh Kumar

Senior Principal Scientist

Innovation Management Directorate (IMD)

CSIR, New Delhi


Dr. K. Ramesha



Karaikudi-630003, Tamilnadu.

 e-mail: director[at]
  Dr. N. Lakshminarasimhan
Senior Principal Scientist
Member, Secretary
CSIR-CECRI, Karaikudi